Lets Be Frank


Big City Dogs-Greenville, Ohio

The heart and soul of a person are in their roots. Who are you? Where do you come from? Me, I’m a country boy at heart. I come from a long, long line of farmers. Some of my fondest memories of my paternal grandfather are of time spent with him riding on a tractor around a field as he worked the land. As a boy, the neighboring fields and woods which lined our property where my play ground. I spent hours there.

Still, as a boy, like many youth who are born and raised to a rural life, I longed to see the bright lights of the big city. I felt as if something inherently was missing from my life- A want of close spaces and unfamiliar faces. To me, it seemed, the city held some magical allure which eluded a simple rural upbringing. Until recent years, I hadn’t yet discovered the fondness and appreciation for wide open spaces, the slow,  simple life of the country and all it affords. Love the country life as I may though, I still have had a taste of the big city.

And of all the tastes of the big city I have experienced, none stirs a fervor of excitement more to me than a simple hot dog. Not just any dog, mind you, but an honest to goodness Chicago dog! In that particular city lie the epitome of hot doginess- Portillo’s. Let’s be frank, there is an art form buried in the Chicago dog and its execution. Portillo’s is the mecca in my book. You see, after having experienced a Chicago dog from Portillo’s I have developed a relentless craving for them, but a six hour drive separates me from the object of my affection.

Enter Big City Dog’s, a local mom and pop joint right here in my home town  of Greenville, Ohio. You see, it seems they too have had a taste of the big city dogs and decided to feature it as the sole theme of offering on their menu. A plethora of city names abound on a menu as long as my arm. Since the Chicago dog hold such esteem in my eyes, I zeroed in on making it the first to undertake when sampling this new establishment and all it had to offer.

Let me tell you, The Chicago dogs at Big City Dogs cut the mustard, which happens to be the only condiment, sans catsup, that can dress a TRUE  Chicago dog, according to purists…I have mine with a squeeze of the tomato stuff, rebel that I am! Never the less, all the prerequisite elements where in place- The Poppy seed bun, dayglo green relish, thick tomato wedges, whole kosher dills, onions, sport peppers, and even celery salt. But the Pièce de résistance was the 100% All Angus beef hot dog which lie at the heart of the matter. The total package gave even Portillo’s, which I consider to be the holy grail of hot dogs, a run for their money. There is something magical about eating a Chicago dog in its city of origin. Certain foods just taste better in their home towns, such as Buffalo Wings, Key Lime Pie or the Juice Lucy.

This fact aside, Big City Dogs served up the real deal and it warms my heart knowing I don’t have to wait until my next trip to Chitown to satisfy my cravings. And with a HUGE order of handcut, freshly salted fries, it makes for a down right tasty meal on the go! If you are in the Greenville, Ohio area, or get in the mood for a road trip, stop by and have a sample. I know I look forward to exploring some of the other city dogs they have to offer.

Big City Dogs

853 East Main Street

Greenville,OH. 45331

(937) 657-5595

*No word on a web site or facebook page. Will keep you posted.

1 Comment

Filed under Hot Dogs, sandwich, street food

One response to “Lets Be Frank

  1. Trent Clark

    Big city dogs has an excelent menu and a ton of varity in the different types of dogs you can get there. awsome food and great service. Get the cincci, hands down best dog there.
    thanks,
    trent

Leave a Reply

